My Essay 2 Draft: The Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing

Dionne Lowe

Dr. Skutar

English 10001

Analyzing an Ad

05/26/2015

The Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing

            Lupus is a disease where the immune system attacks the healthy cells and tissues in the body as well as the joints and major organs. Long story short the body fights its self. No one really knows what causes Lupus and it is very hard to diagnose. The YouTube video, Confronting the Wolf Commercial {The Lupus Endeavor} that I watched, posted by LupusEndeavor gave a lot of information about Lupus and all that it does.

When watching this advertisement about Lupus a lot of things suck out to me. For example the purpose, audience, context and genre. The purpose of this ad is to make people aware of Lupus. “Lupus attacks more people than Leukemia, Multiple Sclerosis, Cystic Fibrosis and Muscular Dystrophy combined.” (Confronting the Wolf Commercial {The Lupus Endeavor}). I think this video is very informative because before I was diagnosed with Lupus. I have no idea what it was, had never even heard of it for that matter. The video also explains some of general the signs of Lupus. The main goal for this advertisement is to inform the people who come across it about lupus.

The audience the advertisement is trying to communicate to is any and every one. This is because with any disease you want to know what you are up against. This video is not however for people who just have Lupus but for people who have a friend or a relative with Lupus to inform about them some of the everyday challenges people who have Lupus go through day to day. This advertisement is for everyone to make the public aware of Lupus.

The context of this I thought was great. The symbol for LupusEndeavor is a girl and a wolf at a standoff and the color is purple and black. The reason this symbol is so great is because lupus in Latin means wolf. The color purple is significant because the color for lupus is purple. One of the speakers in this advertisement uses is the phrase “Lupus, a wolf in sheep’s clothing.” (Confronting the Wolf Commercial {The Lupus Endeavor}). This phrase to me means lupus is sneaky just like a wolf. Sometimes you never know when a flair up will occur. When I have flair up anything from stress to sleep can send me into a flair up. I can defiantly agree with this phrase. The tone that was used by the speakers in this very stern and it has a sense of sadness and pain. When I closed my eyes and just listened to the speakers talk I was sad and felt that if did not have lupus this would probably make me sad enough not to want to even look into what lupus was. I think the speaks should have put some cheerfulness into this advertisement because even though I have lupus I smile every day, even though I feel like a train hit me at full speed. I also think more color and pictures of happy people with lupus should have been used.

The design of this advertisement is media. It was not just a still picture, it was a video. I like the fact that it was not just a picture because a lot more could be explained, explaining lupus.

I feel this video advertisement was structured in a very good way but I think it could have been more colors and images because the video its self is somewhat depressing. If I was just diagnosed with Lupus and came across the video I would feel sad and depressed. So color and images could really bring different emotions to the views and make people want to get involved with making more people aware of Lupus.

Works Cited

“Confronting the Wolf Commercial {The Lupus Endeavor}.” YouTube. YouTube, 13 Apr. 2013. Web. 26 May 2015.

About lowedj

I love to read as well as write

Posted on May 27, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

